SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 588

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the citizens of Pharr, San Juan, and Alamo in recognizing April 12, 2005, as PSJA Day at the Capitol; and WHEREAS, A Texas Main Street Community, Pharr is the largest

WHEREAS, A Texas Main Street Community, Pharr is the largest of the three cities that make up PSJA; it is the site of the Pharr/Reynosa International Bridge, Smitty's Juke Box Museum, and the Old Clock Museum; and

WHEREAS, The City of San Juan is the home of the Basilica of the National Shrine of Our Lady of San Juan del Valle; the city exhibits its hometown pride by flying the American flag on a 160-foot flagpole, the highest in the Rio Grande Valley; and

160-foot flagpole, the highest in the Rio Grande Valley; and WHEREAS, The City of Alamo is known as the "land of two summers" and over 20,000 "winter Texans" dwell in Alamo every year; nature lovers from all over the country visit the nearby Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge; the Sunderland Cactus Garden and Alamo Central Park are also popular sites for visiting tourists; and

WHEREAS, The Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School District is the largest school district in Hidalgo County; it is a progressive district that offers innovative courses and programs to over 27,000 students; and

WHEREAS, This vital and dynamic area offers small-town charm and robust commercial development; the area also hosts colorful cultural events that capture the spirits of both Texas and Mexico; now, therefore, be it

and Mexico; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the citizens of Pharr, San Juan, and Alamo for the many contributions they have made to our state and extend to them best wishes for a joyful PSJA Day at the Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Lucio, Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 12, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate