SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 602

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Southlake Carroll High School football team for winning the University Interscholastic League 2004 Class 5A Division II state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The nationally ranked Carroll Dragons topped off a 16-0 season by defeating the Smithson Valley Rangers 27-24 on December 18 at Texas Stadium, earning the school its second Class 5A state title in three years; Carroll had previously won three state championships as a Class 3A school; and

WHEREAS, The state championship game was tied until a field goal in the last seconds of the game put the Dragons ahead and clinched the title; by finishing the season at the top of the USA Today and National Prep Poll rankings, the Dragons have earned the "mythical" national championship; and

WHEREAS, Senior members of the team are Chris Alberto, Brett Carroll, Chase Daniel, Mitch Enright, Sean Farley, Pete Fleps, Beau Galbraith, Kenton Gedwed, Blake Gentry, Matt Gray, Adam Hansen, Ryan Hopkins, Joseph Huggins, Ben Jackson, Grant Johnson, Brad Keiser, Brad King, Luis Lisea, Aaron Luna, Kyle Lynch, Cameron Parker, Bret Rappleye, Josh Rettig, Ty Samples, Gerren Sanders, Jonathan Skinner, Travis Stacy, Hayes Stripling, Chad Swenson, and Justin Vaughan; and

WHEREAS, Junior team members are Joseph Agnew, James Allen, Patrick Benoist, David Bingaman, Michael Boydston, Kevin Brown, Bryce Buford, Jimmy Carter, Austin Coan, Rod Courson, Robert Darnell, Brad Defratus, Justin Drescher, Spencer Elliott, Joe Graff, Bubba Gregg, Alex Haitz, Paul Halicki, Matt Hampton, Matt Harrison, James Hubbard, McKay Jacobson, Bryce Jones, Jared Junker, Jason Junker, Michael Lacava, Chris Martinez, Greg McElroy, Sean Mills, Matt Moody, Matt Moorefield, John Morrow, Ryan Murray, Joe Olivetti, Kevin Ortega, John Paine, Adam Parchue, Sam Pfleg, Adam Powers, Zak Presley, Michael Prince, Trey Reece, Josh Renberg, Clint Renfro, Chase Reynolds, Andrew Sanchez, Mason Schlabs, Ryan Sebring, Scott Simpson, Corbin Smiter, Aaron Stacy, Erik Stefansson, Kris Swanson, Ryan Trabert, Tim Tye, Robbie Walker, Jay Ward, Blake West, Adam Wilson, and Drew Winsett; and

WHEREAS, Sophomores on the team are Justin Braddock, Eric Fleps, Tom Fleps, Anthony Ford, Arius Ford, Robert Hill, Greg LeHane, Ian O'Connor, Justin Padron, Corey Rucci, Kyle Russo, Austin Shrum, Sam Stevenson, Ken Stone, Kevin Swanson, Blake Tomlin, and Joe Van Breemen, and freshmen on the team are Riley Dodge and Tre' Newton; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes entered the season with determination and have exhibited perseverance and respect for the highest ideals of sportsmanship as they developed their skills, discipline, and teamwork under the expert guidance of their coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, Coaches and trainers are an important part of the success of any team, and the Carroll Dragons have benefited immensely from the dedication and experience of head coach Todd Dodge, assistant coaches Ron Mendoza, Robert Drake,

S.R. No. 602

Paul Pinson, Todd Ford, Travis Pride, Chris Savage, David Fuller, Jason Tucker, Larry Hughes, Jeremy Trojacek, and Matthew Allen, student assistant Ronnie Platt, athletic trainers Derek Abell, Kristen Wood, and Kody Truebenbach, and trainers Billy Anderson, Megan Ensenberger, Mary Lacombe, Bethany Lacombe, and Brady Rankin; and

WHEREAS, The football program at Southlake Carroll has achieved its remarkable success with the support of athletic director Ronnie Tipps, administrative assistant Beth Moore, and Carroll Senior High School Principal Dr. Daniel Presley; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Carroll Dragons football team, together with their coaches and staff, can truly be proud of their accomplishments, and they are a source of tremendous pride for the students and faculty at Carroll High School and for the entire Southlake community; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby extend sincere congratulations to the team members and coaching staff of the Southlake Carroll High School football team for winning the University Interscholastic League 2004 Class 5A Division II state championship title and commend them for their first place national ranking; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Nelson, Brimer

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 13, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate