## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 603

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women

on their visit to the Capitol on April 14, 2005; and WHEREAS, The Texas Federation of Republican Women is one of the largest women's political organizations in the country; organized in 1955, 17 years after the National Federation of Republican Women was formed, it is widely recognized for its effectiveness in the election of Republican Party candidates to city, county, state, and national offices; and

WHEREAS, President George W. Bush acknowledged the importance of the Texas Federation of Republican Women in the growth of the Republican Party in Texas and in his successful

campaign for election as Governor of the State of Texas; and WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women spend countless hours researching issues and working on behalf of Republican Party candidates; the organization's top six officers for the 2004-2005 year are Taffy Goldsmith, president; Pauline Cusack, first vice president; Ann Anderson, vice president bylaws; Toni Anne Dashiell, vice president campaign activities; 'Borah Van Dormolen, vice president

finance; and Kaye Goolsby, vice president legislation; and WHEREAS, Through the commitment, hard work, and dedication of federation members, women of all ages, ethnic groups, and backgrounds have an increased awareness of political issues and have recognized their importance in the political process; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women for their exemplary accomplishments and proclaim April 14, 2005, Texas Federation of Republican Women Legislative Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson, Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 14, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate