## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 620

WHEREAS, The Baylor University Lady Bears basketball team has completed a phenomenal season by winning the 2005 National Collegiate Athletic Association's Women's National Basketball Championship, and the players and coaches of this superior team are indeed deserving of special recognition for this significant accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears captured their first national title by dominating a talented Michigan State team at the RCA Dome in Indianapolis, Indiana; the Big 12 champions defeated the Spartans by the score of 84-62, relying on brilliant guard play, unrelenting defensive pressure, and timely and accurate 3-point shooting to win the crown; and

WHEREAS, With their national championship triumph, the Lady Bears completed the 2004-2005 season with a 20-game winning streak and an impressive 33-3 record; the team's road to the championship included a remarkable win over top-ranked Louisiana State University, which was highlighted by a memorable first-half comeback and a refuse-to-lose attitude that carried the Lady Bears to victory in the second half; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears have prospered under the direction of head coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson, who has been a source of much inspiration to the team during her five-year tenure; she has been assisted in her efforts by associate head coach Bill Brock, assistant coaches Johnny Derrick and Jennifer Roberts, and graduate assistant Mike Snaufer; and

WHEREAS, Members of the 2005 National Championship team are starters Sophia Young, Chameka Scott, Chelsea Whitaker, Abiola Wabara, and Steffanie Blackmon and reserves Emily Niemann, Latoya Wyatt, Angela Tisdale, Melanie Hamerly, Chanelle Fox, Jordan Davis, Monique Jones, Tiffanie Blackmon, Victoria Jones, and Chisa Ononiwu; these young women demonstrated a commitment to teamwork on both offense and defense throughout the season, combining their remarkable skill and athleticism with an uncompromising work ethic to produce a national championship team; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears and their coaches and staff have created tremendous pride among members of the Baylor University community and the citizens of Waco, and it is a pleasure to honor them at this time; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby congratulate Coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson and the Baylor Lady Bears for winning the 2005 National Colligiate Athletic Association's Women's National Basketball Championship and extend best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this remarkable achievement; and, be it further

S.R. No. 620

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Averitt, Harris

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 14, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate