SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 621

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the San Jacinto Museum of History Association in recognizing Mary Bates Bentsen for her 25 years of dedicated service as a member of the museum's board of trustees; and

WHEREAS, Mary Bates Bentsen has devoted her life to the preservation of the San Jacinto Monument and the development of the San Jacinto Museum of History; succeeding her father, Colonel William B. Bates, a founding museum trustee, she has been an untiring proponent of the museum's continuing education programs to ensure that future generations of Texans and others will learn of our state's long and cherished past; and

WHEREAS, Working with her colleagues, she has helped to guide the museum in the preservation and restoration of the historic battleground and the monument that commemorates a very significant event in our state's history; during her tenure on the board, the museum has had a dramatic expansion of its collection of artifacts, papers, documents, and manuscripts related to the Battle of San Jacinto and the forming of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Mary Bates Bentsen has also worked to preserve Texas history through her service on the board of directors of the Friends of the Governor's Mansion from 1991 through 2003, and she was elected to the honorary position of Director Emerita for her outstanding service to the organization in 2004; and

WHEREAS, Mary Bates Bentsen is an exemplary leader and role model, and she deserves legislative recognition for her exceptional efforts to preserve the history of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to Mary Bates Bentsen for her invaluable contributions to the San Jacinto Museum of History and for her role in preserving the history of this great state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 14, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate