## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 626

## In Memory of Tillie Mae Parker Baylor

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Dallas in mourning the loss of Tillie Mae Parker Baylor who died March 23, 2005, at the age of 70; and

WHEREAS, Born and raised in Greenville, Alabama, she met her future husband, Claude Daniel Baylor, while he was stationed in Florida with the United States Air Force; the couple married and moved to Dallas in 1958; Mr. Baylor preceded her in death; and

moved to Dallas in 1958; Mr. Baylor preceded her in death; and WHEREAS, An exemplary lady and a well-known West Dallas activist, Tillie Mae fought for many years to improve the lot of her community and of her fellow citizens; she worked to clean up lead pollution, save and improve public housing, and reduce crime; and

WHEREAS, While working for the George Loving Center, her civic endeavors included organizing softball teams for neighborhood children; she was considered a mother to every child in the public housing projects in her community; and

WHEREAS, A highly effective community advocate, she was respected for her many accomplishments; Tillie Mae gave unselfishly of herself to others, and her wisdom, strength, and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew her; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Tillie Mae Parker Baylor: her sons, Ottis Womack, Ricky Baylor, Claude Baylor III, Demetrius Baylor, and Joseph Kelley; her daughters, Sharon Johnson and Vickie McLendon; and her 21 grandchildren and 20 great-grandchildren; and, be it further

**RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Tillie Mae Parker Baylor.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 18, 2005, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate