SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 627

WHEREAS, The Texas Senate takes great pleasure in recognizing the third class of the Senator Gregory Luna Memorial Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program instituted through the Senate Hispanic Research Council, Incorporated; and

WHEREAS, The program was named in memory of the late Senator Gregory Luna of San Antonio, who was a tireless advocate for equal access to education and who believed that a quality education is the key to a more effective and inclusive government; and

WHEREAS, During his tenure representing Bexar County, from 1985 to 1998, Senator Luna was a champion of the people and strove to dissolve barriers for Texas' less fortunate citizens; he was always committed to helping underrepresented and underserved Texans; and

WHEREAS, As a follow-up to Senator Luna's mission, this unique program was created to provide opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students from across the state to serve as full-time legislative assistants in the Texas Senate and to acquire the training they need to ultimately become effective leaders; and

WHEREAS, These Scholars and Fellows perform a variety of legislative tasks, including drafting proposed legislation and writing floor statements, articles, press releases, and legislative research summaries; the third class developed the First Annual Luna Scholars Leadership Institute, which teaches high-school-age foster students about diversity, college and career preparation, and leadership among peers; and

WHEREAS, The following four graduate Fellows and six undergraduate Scholars have demonstrated outstanding dedication and achievement in Senate offices: Carlos Calderon from Houston, serving in the office of Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst; Stephen Cortes from Waco, serving in the office of Senator Kel Seliger; Jenny Marquez from Houston, serving in the office of Senator John Whitmire; Alejandro Martinez from McAllen, serving in the office of Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa; Nicanor Pesina from Royse City, serving in the office of Senator Eddie Lucio; Elvira Ramos from Carrollton, serving in the office of Senator Gonzalo Barrientos; Jamal Rhadbane from San Antonio, serving in the office of Senator Judith Zaffirini; Marisol Sanchez from Austin, serving in the office of Senator Eliot Shapleigh; Vanessa Solesbee from Austin, serving in the office of Senator Leticia Van de Putte; and Ricardo Zavala from Austin, serving in the office of Senator Frank Madla; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend these remarkable individuals for their service this session and extend to them best wishes as they prepare themselves to become the future leaders of our state and nation; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be presented to them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa Barrientos Madla Van de Putte Ellis Seliger West Gallegos Shapleigh Whitmire Lucio Zaffirini Member, Texas Senate President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 19, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate