SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 629

WHEREAS, Lola Burgess retired from her position as executive vice president of the Silsbee Chamber of Commerce on March 31, 2005, bringing to a close an exceptional tenure with the organization that spanned 23 years; and

WHEREAS, In her role as chamber vice president, Mrs. Burgess has been a tireless advocate of the Silsbee community, promoting area events, championing local businesses and organizations, and setting a sterling example of leadership to which all may aspire; and

WHEREAS, This notable woman has further proven herself to be one of Silsbee's invaluable assets through her important work with a number of organizations; former publicity and promotion chair for the Silsbee Independent School District School Board referendum, she has managed publicity for the Christmas in the Big Thicket Festival and Lighted Parade as well as for the Silsbee Little Theater, a group she has also served as president and as a member of its Fifth Street Band; moreover, she has greatly benefited the Better Business Bureau of Southeast Texas as a director and the Lamar Institute of Technology as a trustee; and

WHEREAS, In all of her endeavors, she enjoys the love and support of her husband, County Commissioner Bob Burgess, and her son, Dr. Rob Burgess; and

WHEREAS, Lola Burgess has made Silsbee a better place in which to live, work, and raise a family, and her outstanding efforts in behalf of the city she loves to call home will have a positive and lasting impact on area residents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Lola Burgess on her distinguished record of service as executive vice president of the Silsbee Chamber of Commerce and extend to her sincere best wishes for a happy retirement; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mrs. Burgess as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Staples

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 18, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate