SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 637

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Canyon High School Lady Eagles basketball team for winning its third consecutive University Interscholastic League Class 3A girls' state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Canyon Lady Eagles won the 12th state championship title for Canyon High School by defeating the Cleveland High School Lady Indians by a score of 66-46; and

WHEREAS, Team members Mandi Whitecotton, Lauren Simpson, Savannah Rose, Catherine McMenamy, Cherilyn McMenamy, Sasha Monreal, Sierra Wilcox, Jordan Hampton, Noni Valdez, Kacee Carey, Lauren Irlbeck, and Kelsea Heiman have exhibited great talent and dedication in carrying on the long and illustrious tradition of Canyon High School basketball with a record of 32-3; and

WHEREAS, The team benefits from the superior guidance of head coach Joe Lombard and assistant coaches Johnny Hampton and Kurt Richardson and from the invaluable assistance of manager Amanda Say, the Lady Eagles have come to represent the best in teamwork, discipline, and sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the Canyon High School Lady Eagles for a successful season and congratulate the team members for winning their third consecutive Class 3A girls' state basketball championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 19, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate