SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 671

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Doris M. Jackson, who is being presented the prestigious Elva K. Steward Alumni of the Year Award on April 27, 2005, at the T.F. Freeman Ministers/Laity Summit at Texas Southern University; and WHEREAS, Dr. Jackson is an associate professor in the

WHEREAS, Dr. Jackson is an associate professor in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Texas Southern University; she is a dedicated student advocate who has helped hundreds of students in their pursuit of higher education over the past 15 years; and

the past 15 years; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Jackson is a mentor and workshop coordinator
for the Youth For Christ Foundation and serves as chairperson
for the board of advisors for the T.F. Freeman Ministers/Laity
Summit; she is general chair of the Health and Educational
Article Review Board for the Houston Forward Times newspaper and
is a director of Continuing Clinical Service for the National
Pharmaceutical Association; and

WHEREAS, In addition to her work in education, she is active in the community and coordinates events in the Third and Fifth Wards, including health fairs, Youth Leadership Conferences, musical presentations, and parades; and WHEREAS, An exemplary role model, Dr. Doris M. Jackson has

WHEREAS, An exemplary role model, Dr. Doris M. Jackson has had a positive impact on the lives of many, and her award reflects her dedication to her students, Texas Southern University, and her community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby congratulate Dr. Doris M. Jackson on earning the Elva K. Steward Alumni of the Year Award and proclaim April 27 Dr. Doris M. Jackson Day in Houston; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 22, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate