SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 689

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Communities In Schools State Office in recognizing the recipients of the 2005 Best of Texas CIS Awards: and

recipients of the 2005 Best of Texas CIS Awards; and
WHEREAS, Communities In Schools is a nationwide network
with 26 area programs in Texas that focus on decreasing the
student dropout rate by providing school-based quality social
services and links to community resources; and

WHEREAS, The Best of Texas CIS Award recipients are those individuals who have made exceptional contributions to students, families, the community at large, and the CIS program; they are selected for the award by representatives of a number of state social service and education agencies from nominations made by local programs; and

WHEREAS, Award winners and their Communities In Schools programs are LuAnn Morgan, of the Permian Basin, Board Member of the Year; Doug McDurham, of McLennan County Youth Collaboration, Executive Director of the Year; Irene Loera Thomas, of the Permian Basin, Staff Member of the Year; Lilia Garcia, of El Paso, Volunteer of the Year; and Luis Gonzales, of El Paso, Student of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Other recipients are Dr. John Hall, Lockhart Independent School District, of Central Texas, Superintendent of the Year; Leigh Ann Dees, Lamar Primary School, of South Central Texas, Principal of the Year; Debbie Landers, Little Elm Independent School District, of North Texas, Teacher of the Year; and Cadbury Schweppes, of North Texas, Business/Company of the Year; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated citizens have helped many young Texans stay in school, prepare for successful lives, and contribute to their communities, and they are indeed worthy of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
79th Legislature, hereby commend all those involved with the
Communities In Schools programs of Texas for their exceptional
work and extend congratulations to the worthy recipients of the
2005 Best of Texas CIS Awards; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the award recipients as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 25, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate