SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 692

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is proud to recognize The University of Texas at Austin Longhorn football team on the occasion of its historic Rose Bowl victory over the University of Michigan Wolverines on January 1, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Both schools have a long tradition of participation in intercollegiate football; The University of Texas Longhorns have been playing since 1893, and the University of Michigan Wolverines have been playing since 1879; and

WHEREAS, The post-season Rose Bowl game has been held annually in Pasadena, California, since 1916; January 1, 2005, marks the first Rose Bowl appearance for The University of Texas Longhorns and their first meeting with the University of Michigan Wolverines; and

WHEREAS, Playing before a crowd of more than 90,000, the Longhorns defeated the University of Michigan Wolverines by a score of 38-37 to win their first Rose Bowl Championship Series game; and

WHEREAS, Going into the Rose Bowl, the Longhorns were ranked sixth in the nation with a season record of 10-1, and they continued to prove their capacity to combine teamwork and talent to lead them to this tremendous victory; and

WHEREAS, Longhorn quarterback Vince Young led Texas to 17 fourth-quarter points; he ran for 192 yards and four touchdowns, passed for 180 yards and one additional touchdown, and was voted the offensive player of the game; and

WHEREAS, With just two seconds remaining in the game and the Wolverines holding a 37-35 lead, senior Longhorn placekicker Dusty Mangum, playing in his last game, kicked the winning 37-yard field goal in the dramatic ending that gave Texas its Rose Bowl championship; and

WHEREAS, Under the outstanding leadership of coach Mack Brown, the 2005 senior class of Texas Longhorn football players compiled a four-year record of 43-8 and appeared in four bowl games, winning three; receiving special honors during the season were senior Cedric Benson, who won the 2004 Doak Walker Award as the nation's top running back, and senior Derrick Johnson, who won the 2004 Butkus Award as the nation's best linebacker; and

WHEREAS, The Longhorns' victory in the Rose Bowl is the culmination of the team's outstanding season, and they have brought great honor to themselves, their school, and the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby extend congratulations to

S.R. No. 692

The University of Texas Longhorns on their 2005 Rose Bowl Championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate