SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 719

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Curtis W. Wallace and First Lady Phyllis Wallace as they celebrate their 15th anniversary as pastor and first lady of the Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church in Dallas; and

WHEREAS, A native of Paris, Texas, Dr. Wallace attended Paul Quinn College and Houston Baptist University; he received his bachelor of theology degree from Union Bible College and Seminary in Houston, his master of arts degree from the Survine Theological Seminary in Denver, and his doctorate of ministry from the Houston Graduate School of Theology; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Wallace began his ministerial vocation at the Mount Pisgah Baptist Church in Paris, Texas; he also served as pastor of the Lilly Grove Missionary Baptist Church in Houston; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership, the Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church has begun many new ministries, including the Worship and Fine Arts Ministry, the Singles, Marriage, and Family Enrichment program, the Boys to Men Mentoring Program, and the Soul Winners Action Team; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Wallace is affiliated with many prominent organizations, among them the National Baptist Convention of America, Incorporated, the Missionary General Baptist Convention, and the African American Pastors Coalition; he is a member of the Houston Graduate School of Theology Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Wallace is a driving force in the community in the area of urban ministry, and he and First Lady Phyllis Wallace are a source of strength and inspiration to the members of the Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Curtis W. Wallace and First Lady Phyllis Wallace for their years of outstanding service to their congregation and community; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 29, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate