## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 743

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Senate Ladies Club in honoring those ladies who have been club members for 50 years or more; and

WHEREAS, The Senate Ladies Club was organized 78 years ago as a social club for ladies who accompanied their husbands to Austin for the 40th Legislative Session; the club was organized so the ladies could become better acquainted with one another and introduce themselves to the Austin community; and

WHEREAS, The club has a tradition of hosting a dinner the Monday preceding the opening session of the legislature to honor the governor and lieutenant governor and their wives and the new members of the Senate and their spouses; the club meets each week on Wednesday during the regular session; and

WHEREAS, Active members are those women serving in the Senate and the wives of senators; associate members are women who are former senators or wives of former senators; and honorary members are the spouses of the current governor, lieutenant governor, and the attorney general; membership in the club is, in effect, a life membership—"Once a Senate Lady, always a Senate Lady"; and

Senate Lady"; and
WHEREAS, The ladies being honored this year and the years
listed in which they joined the club are Florine Ramsey, 1944;
Geneva Hardeman, 1947; Sharleen Formby Rhoads, 1947; Lorraine Brown,
1948; Margaret Martin Templeton, 1949; Frances Secrest Barrett,
1953; Connie Kazen, 1953; Marianne Owen, 1954; Macille "Babe" Moore,
1955; and Elizabeth Bracewell, 1949; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby pay special tribute to the 10 distinguished ladies who have been members of the club for 50 years or more and commend them for their accomplishments and contributions to our state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 3, 2005.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate