SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 802

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pride in joining the citizens of Texas in recognizing May 12, 2005, as Omega Psi Phi Day at the Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated, was organized November 17, 1911, at Howard University in Washington, D.C., by Professor Ernest E. Just and three undergraduate students, Edgar A. Love, Frank Coleman, and Oscar J. Cooper; the fraternity's name was derived from the initials of a Greek phrase meaning "friendship is essential to the soul"; and

WHEREAS, The fraternity's cardinal principles are manhood, scholarship, perseverance, and uplift; notable Omega men and upholders of these principles include Bill Cosby, Michael Jordan, Carter G. Woodson, and Vernon Jordan; and

WHEREAS, For decades, members of this fraternity have been involved in the fight for social justice, from participating in sit-ins and other demonstrations to taking part in the activities of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People; and

WHEREAS, Omega Psi Phi has instituted numerous programs within its chapters to further its principles, including voter registration, education, and mobilization; among its many social action beneficiaries are Assault on Illiteracy, Habitat for Humanity, and the American Diabetes Association; and

WHEREAS, The members of this respected organization volunteer and participate in bettering their communities, and their activities have earned them the respect and admiration of those who know them; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated, for its many contributions to the state and nation and welcome its members as they visit the State Capitol; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for its members as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 12, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate