SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 816

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the James Holub Middle School Band of Houston on its selection by the John Philip Sousa Foundation to receive the Sudler Silver Cup award of 2004; and

WHEREAS, Awarded to junior high and middle school concert bands that have maintained high standards of musical excellence at the international level over a period of several years, the Sudler Silver Cup is the highest recognition of excellence that a middle school band can achieve; only 34 middle schools have received this honor in the 20-year history of the award; and

WHEREAS, In order to qualify for this prestigious award, a band must have superior ratings in competition including performances at regional, state, and national venues, and a sound overall musical program; the band director must have maintained a complete musical program in the school for seven years or more; and

WHEREAS, Under the outstanding direction of conductor
Ruben Garcia, the James Holub Middle School Band has more than
met these standards; the Holub Symphonic Band has won 12
consecutive Sweepstakes trophies at University Interscholastic
League competitions, and the Holub Jazz Band has been named
Outstanding Middle School Jazz Band numerous times at various
jazz festivals; and

WHEREAS, The Sudler Silver Cup award will be presented at a gala concert performance at the Alief Taylor High School Auditorium on May 24, 2005; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 816

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

79th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the James Holub

Middle School Band and conductor Ruben Garcia for their hard work

and dedication and congratulate them on earning the Sudler Silver

Cup; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the band as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate