## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 825

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Manning All-Star cheerleaders of South Texas, who recently won a national championship from the Universal Cheerleaders Association in Orlando; and

WHEREAS, After months of training, the cheerleading squad perfected a routine that carried them through regional and state competitions before they went to the two-day national competition and competed in the small senior coed division; and

WHEREAS, Competitive cheerleading is a challenging sport that requires strength, dexterity, and specialized training; the Manning cheerleaders captured one of the top spots at the competition by demonstrating talent and team unity and the discipline instilled in them by their coaches, Jodi Blaha and DeNeal Payne, and their assistant coach Megan Supak; and

WHEREAS, The Manning All-Stars are fifth to 12th grade students and range in age from 11 to 17; they are Ashley Blackburn, Laura Cavender, Amanda Hybner, Katie Kaelin, Bailey Kovarek, Jaecy Latta, Savannah Mendoza, Syndal Brown, Heather Gillespie, Hillary Gillespie, Kelsie Dubose, Shelby Monroe, Ashley O'Riley, Jade Payne, Jazlyn Payne, Samantha Pullin, Morgan Sewalt,
Melanie Vasquez, and Madison Wirtz; and
WHEREAS, These exemplary young women are a source of
tremendous pride to their families and their community, and

their outstanding achievement is indeed worthy of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the Manning All-Star cheerleaders and coaches for their award-winning performance at the Universal Cheerleaders Association national competition and congratulate them on bringing home a championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Armbrister

President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13,  $200\overline{5}$ .

Secretary of the Senate