## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 849

## In Memory of Marguerite Agnes Grissom

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Austin in mourning the loss of Marguerite Agnes Grissom, who died April 30, 2005, at the age of 83; and

WHEREAS, Marguerite Agnes Grissom was born in Germany on May 27, 1921, to Thekla and George Washington Grissom; although she was born blind, Marguerite had remarkable academic success and an exemplary career; and WHEREAS, Marguerite attended Texas School for the Blind

WHEREAS, Marguerite attended Texas School for the Blind and The University of Texas, where she earned a bachelor's degree in fine arts and a master's degree in music education; she taught music appreciation at Saint Edward's University from 1954 to 1974; she also taught private piano and voice lessons and performed in many voice recitals; and

WHEREAS, Parishioners were blessed with her music at Saint Mary's Cathedral, where she was a singer and organist for 41 years; Marguerite was active in many organizations, including the Catholic Daughters of America and the Austin Women's Choir, and she was a volunteer during the formative years of classical radio station KMFA; and

WHEREAS, Marguerite enriched the lives of all who knew her with her love and compassion and her warmth and kindness; she was a generous and highly respected woman who leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by her family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby honor and commemorate the life of Marguerite Agnes Grissom and extend sincere condolences to her bereaved family; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared

**RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Marguerite Agnes Grissom.

Barrientos

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 10, 2005, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate