SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 861

WHEREAS, The Texas Senate is pleased to congratulate The University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College chess team for winning the Southwestern Collegiate Chess Championship competition held in Dallas February 26 and 27, 2005; and

Championship competition held in Dallas February 26 and 27, 2005; and WHEREAS, Founder and team captain Erick Vallarino and players Ricardo Acevedo, Victor Flores, Vincent Flores, Antonio "Tony" Espino, and Luis Gomez represented the university at the event; they triumphed over teams from 13 other colleges and universities to capture the championship; and

and universities to capture the championship; and
WHEREAS, Five of the six players won in the first round
though they were ranked lower than players from other schools,
which included teams from The University of Texas at Austin and
Dallas, Texas A&M University, and Louisiana Tech University; and

WHEREAS, Erick and Victor tied for first place, and Tony played to a draw with the Dallas grand master, which proved to be a major factor in determining the team championship; and

WHEREAS, Most of the team members have been playing chess since elementary or middle school in Brownsville; under the guidance of Coach Roman Dzindzichashvili, the team was well prepared and focused and ultimately dominated the competition; and WHEREAS, The members of this highly respected chess team

WHEREAS, The members of this highly respected chess team demonstrated great talent and perseverance, and they deserve to be recognized for their outstanding achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the members of The University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College chess team for their exceptional skills and congratulate them on winning the Southwestern Collegiate Chess Championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Lucio

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 12, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate