## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 862

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the National Baptist Congress of Christian Education on the occasion of its 100th annual session which is being held in Houston June 20 through 24, 2005; and

WHEREAS, The National Baptist Congress of Christian Education is the primary training arm of the National Baptist Convention, USA, Incorporated, which has its origins in the Baptist Mission Convention formed in 1880 by 150 Baptist pastors who met in Montgomery, Alabama; and

WHEREAS, The principal training activity of the National Baptist Congress of Christian Education is the assembly held each year in June, for which delegates gather from across the country to learn and be inspired by renowned preachers and gifted instructors; the distinguished speakers offer Bible lessons, creative ideas, and practical solutions to the dilemmas facing the world; and

WHEREAS, Under the guidance and wise stewardship of its leaders and the outstanding leadership of its current president, Dr. R. B. Holmes, Jr., the congress has continued to lead its members through diverse world conditions and massive societal changes to solutions that are a testimony to the valuable work of the church; and

of the church; and
WHEREAS, As the educational group holds its 100th annual
session in Houston, it is anticipated that the number of attendees
will surpass that of the 99th session held in Memphis, Tennessee,
with its record-breaking 35,000 delegates; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the leaders of the National Baptist Congress of Christian Education for their good work and extend to all attending the session in Houston warm greetings and best wishes for a successful and glorious event; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this session and as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 11, 2005.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate