## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 868

## In Memory of Dorothy Nell Turner

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Austin in mourning the loss of Dorothy Nell Turner, who died April 6, 2005, at the age of 69; and

WHEREAS, A powerful and uncompromising voice for civil rights, Dorothy left behind a legacy of social change and a blueprint for righting wrongs in an often unjust world; and

WHEREAS, Unafraid to face any civil rights issue, Dorothy confronted each challenge with a passion and intensity that never wavered; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of her 25-year career with the City of Austin, Dorothy worked in a variety of posts, retiring in 1998 as an employee liaison; she consistently tried to create more opportunities for the employment of minorities in city and county government; and

WHEREAS, Dorothy was a longtime president of the Black Citizens Task Force; among her many accomplishments were getting a library built in University Hills in Northeast Austin, nurturing the completion of the Millennium Youth Entertainment Complex in East Austin, and creating KAZI-FM, a community radio station featuring African American programming; and

WHEREAS, A woman of courage, dignity, and dedication to her ideals, Dorothy will not be forgotten by those who knew her, and she leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by her family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 868

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Dorothy Nell Turner: her husband, Cary Turner; and her children, Joycelyn Russell, and Guy Washington; and, be it further

**RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dorothy Nell Turner.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 11, 2005, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate