SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 889

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Science Olympiad team from Lyndon Baines Johnson High School in Austin for being named a National Qualifying team that will represent the State of Texas at the National Science Olympiad; and

WHEREAS, Created in 1983, the Science Olympiad is devoted to improving the quality of science education, increasing student interest in science, and providing recognition for outstanding achievement in science; and

WHEREAS, The national tournament will be held May 20, 2005, at the University of Illinois and will feature 23 academic and engineering events that require expertise in a variety of scientific disciplines and the ability to apply scientific principles in challenges such as the "Naked Egg Drop" and "Designer Genes"; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Lyndon Baines Johnson High School Science Olympiad team have displayed determination and remarkable ability, and they and their coach have brought honor to their school, to their community, and to the State of Texas; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

79th Legislature, hereby commend Mae Dinan, coach of the Lyndon Baines Johnson High School Science Olympiad team, and extend congratulations to the following students for their outstanding performance: Amalia Beckner, Hannah Chung, Doan Dao, Jonathan Einav, Robin Hartman, Erec Hillis, Katie Johns, Dillon Kuehner, Ryan Newton, Ariane Panzer, Charles Peck, Maria Serna, Michael Singerman, Ellie Souganidis, Justin Spector, Kevin Patrick Thill, Weiran Wayne Tie, Yangluo Wang, and Helen Zhang; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of the Science Olympiad team of Lyndon Baines Johnson

High School as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate