## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 918

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. David Yates Graham of Houston for his many contributions in the fields of medicine and microbiology; and

WHEREAS, Currently a professor of medicine and molecular virology and microbiology and chief of the digestive disease division at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Dr. Graham is an internationally recognized physician and researcher who has authored more than 680 scientific papers, several books, and numerous chapters in medical textbooks; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Graham was born in Balboa in the Panama Canal Zone on December 24, 1940; he earned a bachelor of science degree from the University of Notre Dame in 1963 and graduated from the Baylor University College of Medicine in 1966; and

WHEREAS, Past president of the American College of Gastroenterology, he has received numerous awards and citations for his contributions to medicine, including the Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Award for excellence in research and the Janssen Award for special achievement in gastroenterology; the Royal Society of Medicine in London named him an annual visiting professor in clinical medicine; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Graham has been listed among the top 50 most influential gastroenterology professionals of the 20th century, and he is a fellow of the American College of Physicians; in addition, he served as a physician to National Aeronautics and Space Administration astronauts during the Apollo space program; and

1

S.R. No. 918

WHEREAS, His vital efforts will continue to further the knowledge, treatment, and research for gastrointestinal disorders; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. David Yates Graham for his exceptional accomplishments and his valuable contributions to medical research; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 16, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate