## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 962

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jose M. Amador on the occasion of his retirement from The Texas A&M University System after 40 years of distinguished service; and

WHEREAS, Jose attended the University of Havana and Louisiana State University for his undergraduate studies and received a master's degree of science and a doctorate in plant pathology from Louisiana State University; and

WHEREAS, In 1965, he began his professional career with The Texas A&M University System as an extension plant pathologist at the Texas A&M University Research and Extension Center in Weslaco; he has been the director of the center, the largest off-campus station of the agriculture program, and a professor since 1991; and

WHEREAS, Jose has coordinated research, extension, and education programs for The Texas A&M University System, and he has published many articles in scientific journals on a wide variety of subjects; and

WHEREAS, Nominated by President Bill Clinton to serve as Assistant Secretary of Agriculture for Science and Education, he counts among his numerous honors the Vice-Chancellor Award in Excellence from The Texas A&M University System agriculture program and the Caballero de Oro de la Fitopatologia Americana from the Latin American Association of Plant Pathology; and

WHEREAS, To salute his years of service, his colleagues and friends are paying tribute to him with a dinner on May 6, 2005; such an admirable individual truly deserves to be honored for his loyal service to the state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Jose M. Amador for his outstanding work for The Texas A&M University System and extend to him best wishes for a fulfilling retirement; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$  , That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Lucio

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 20, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate