SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 968

WHEREAS, Latina Crown USA is dedicated to making a positive difference in the lives of young women through an innovative, community-supported beauty pageant system; and

WHEREAS, Participants in this year's competition present on this day include: Vanessa Rodriguez, Beatriz Marlene Casto, Libna Ontiveros, Nicole Korrodi, Martha Patricia Gallegos, Ana Karina Melendez, Ana Laura Martinez, Evangelina Lopez, Angeles Gonzalez, January Salgado, Daniela Vazquez, Elizabeth Herrera, Cecilia Marie Regan, Beverly Aleman, Diana R. Foster, and Jeanne P. Lopez-McKenney; and

WHEREAS, Also at the Capitol today are 2005 Miss Teen Texas Latina Cinthia Ramos and Mrs. Texas Latina Blanca Lizama as well as staff members Laura Marisol Salinas, Fernando Velazquez de Leon, and Victor Aaron Cacho Habich; and

WHEREAS, Created by beauty queen, entrepreneur, and news anchor Jackeline Cacho, this pioneering pageant provides Latinas with an important avenue by which to increase their self-confidence and to further their education by earning scholarship money, and this outstanding endeavor is truly worthy of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Latina Crown USA for its contributions to the Latinas of the Lone Star State and extend to all those associated with the organization sincere best wishes for a memorable pageant; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the group as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 20, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate