## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 995

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Margaret Penn Sherrod for creating and directing the Black Foxes, the majorette dancing line that performs with the Prairie View A&M University Marching Storm Band; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Sherrod has directed the popular dance troupe for 30 years, and she works closely with band director George Edwards to provide entertainment at local athletic events, as well as throughout the state and nation; under her tutelage, the Black Foxes has grown from eight to 20 dancers, and the group has a reputation around the country for first-class precision and showmanship; and

WHEREAS, Performing with the Marching Storm Band, the Black Foxes have danced in numerous high-profile events, such as inaugural parades for President George W. Bush, the nationally televised Dallas Cowboys 2004 Thanksgiving Day game, and the Honda Battle of the Bands in Atlanta, Georgia; and

WHEREAS, A former Miss Prairie View A&M University, Margaret Sherrod was the first African-American contestant in the Miss Texas and Miss America Pageants; and

WHEREAS, She expects performance excellence, good grades, character development, and community involvement from the members of the Black Foxes program; and

WHEREAS, The Prairie View A&M University Marching Band and the Black Foxes are a source of great pride to the university and our state, and Dr. Margaret Penn Sherrod deserves recognition for creating the Black Foxes and making the dancers the tremendous success they are today; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 995

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Margaret Penn Sherrod for her exceptional achievements and congratulate her on her outstanding work as director of the Black Foxes; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis, Armbrister

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 26, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate