## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 996

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize George Edwards, who is the director of the widely acclaimed Prairie View A&M University Marching Storm Band; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership and direction of
Professor Edwards, the Marching Storm Band has earned a reputation
as one of the best bands in the country and has won many accolades
for its outstanding performances and showmanship; and

WHEREAS, Members of the band and of its majorette dance program, the Black Foxes, perform at athletic competitions and at such high-profile events as President George W. Bush's 2001 Presidential Inaugural Parade in Washington, D.C., and the Dallas Cowboys' 2004 Thanksgiving Day game; and

WHEREAS, One of the top 10 marching bands in the country selected by the Historically Black Colleges and Universities to participate in the Honda Battle of the Bands Invitational Showcase in Atlanta, Georgia, the Prairie View A&M Band has proved to be an audience favorite; and

WHEREAS, George Edwards has directed the Marching Storm

Band for 20 years, and in that time span, it has grown from a band
with 25 instruments to nearly 300; in addition to developing his
students' musical and performing talents, he coaches them in
personal conduct and character development; and

WHEREAS, The Prairie View A&M University Marching Storm
Band is renowned for its excellence and is a source of tremendous
pride to the university and to our state, and George Edwards

S.R. No. 996

deserves recognition for making the band such a success; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

79th Legislature, hereby commend George Edwards for his
exceptional achievements and his outstanding success as director
of the Prairie View A&M University Marching Storm Band; and,
be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem of the Texas Senate.

Ellis, Armbrister

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 26, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate