## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1000

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the students of Medina Valley High School for their success in the 2005 University Interscholastic League academic competitions; and

WHEREAS, The Current Events and the Number Sense teams defended the first-place titles that they won in the spring of 2004; the Number Sense team had the highest score of any school in the state; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the first-place team titles, Medina Valley students also placed in individual competition events in Social Studies, Accounting, Current Events, and Number Sense; overall, Medina Valley High School was ranked number four among competitors in the 4A classification; and

WHEREAS, The invaluable coaching of Gay Bratton, Delores Castleberry, Dr. Keith Jones, Sharon Rodriquez, Greg Ward, and Tamra Westberry helped the students shine in the competitions and showed them the value of discipline and hard work in any endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The participating students, Sarah Aelvoet, Jessica Andermatt, Chris Aragon, Joey Brantley, Drew Clary, Chris Compean, Tara Hildenbrand, Patty Jasso, Darcy Melton, and Tony Zerr, can take pride in their outstanding performances; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the students from Medina Valley High School for their performance at the 2005 state University Interscholastic League competition; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the participants as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Madla

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 24, 2005.

Member, Texas Senate

Secretary of the Senate