## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1005

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria, which is expanding into the Hispanic market in the United States with the purchase of Laredo National Bancshares, Incorporated; and

of Laredo National Bancshares, Incorporated; and WHEREAS, Laredo National Bancshares is the leading financial services provider to the Hispanic market in the South Texas border region and the holding company of two banks--The Laredo National Bank and South Texas National Bank of Laredo; Laredo National Bancshares will be added to Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria's United States division; and

WHEREAS, Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria is an established financial leader in Spanish-speaking countries; it is based in Spain and provides a full range of financial services to 35 million customers in 37 countries; and

WHEREAS, The border region is a prime area for the financial company, as approximately 38 percent of the border trade between the United States and Mexico is done through Laredo, and Laredo National Bancshares has a 23 percent share in the Texas-Mexico border region with 110,000 customers and assets of \$3.4 billion; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Senate congratulates Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria on its expansion into Texas and is honored to have three of the bank's primary executives visiting the Capitol today: José Ignacio Goirigolzarri, president and chief operating officer; Vitalino Manuel Nafria Aznar, director general of BBVA América; and José Maria García Meyer-Dohner, chief executive officer of BBVA USA; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby welcome Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria as a new corporate citizen of this state and pay tribute to Señor Goirigolzarri, Señor Aznar and Señor Meyer-Dohner; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 24, 2005.

## Secretary of the Senate