SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1020

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Guadalupe River Trout Unlimited for its efforts in conserving, protecting, and restoring North America's cold-water fisheries and their watersheds for future generations; and

WHEREAS, Guadalupe River Trout Unlimited is the largest chapter of Trout Unlimited in the world, boasting 4,800 members in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Guadalupe River Trout Unlimited is one of the oldest, continuously active conservation organizations in Texas; it was created in 1968 after the successful introduction of rainbow trout in the Guadalupe River; and

WHEREAS, The organization cooperates with Texas Parks and Wildlife by annually stocking \$45,000 worth of rainbow and brown trout in the Guadalupe River; and

WHEREAS, Guadalupe River Trout Unlimited contracts with the Blanco River Authority to maintain a minimum in-stream flow from unallocated water in Canyon Lake, which benefits the trout fishery and improves opportunities for water recreation; and

WHEREAS, Guadalupe River Trout Unlimited contributes significantly to the local economy as a result of its stocking program and the contractual flows that encourage the recreational use of the river; and

WHEREAS, Guadalupe River Trout Unlimited educates the public by teaching fly-fishing skills and by introducing the sport to children in the classroom; it sponsors scientific studies of the Guadalupe River for better management of trout potential; and

WHEREAS, This nonprofit organization promotes "catch and release" as the fundamental tenet of conservation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby recognize Guadalupe River Trout Unlimited for its notable achievements and extend to them best wishes in their future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this organization as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Wentworth

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 25, 2005.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate