SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1025

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dennis McCudden, who is retiring as a policy specialist with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission on June 30, 2005, after 26 years of loyal service to the state; and

WHEREAS, Dennis McCudden began his career with the state's emergency services programs in the Texas Department of Human Services in April, 1979, as a temporary eligibility worker in Wichita Falls processing claims for disaster-assistance grants; he was soon offered a permanent position in Austin; and

WHEREAS, As a policy specialist, Dennis has prepared disaster program handbooks and manuals on rules, administrative plans, and training and operating procedures; and

WHEREAS, During disaster operations, he supervised temporary staff hired as eligibility supervisors and quality control personnel; he represented his department at hearings and met with other state agencies and national disaster agencies; and

WHEREAS, Due to the dedication and hard work of Dennis and his colleagues, Texas' individual assistance programs for disaster victims are used as models for other states to follow, and handbooks and training materials developed and revised by Dennis have been used nationwide by the Federal Emergency Management Agency; and

WHEREAS, A talented and resourceful individual, Dennis has handled the many responsibilities of a career in the emergency services programs with exceptional efficiency and dedication,

S.R. No. 1025

and his presence in the Health and Human Services Commission will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

79th Legislature, hereby commend Dennis McCudden on his exceptional career and his many years of outstanding service to this state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 26, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate