Suspending limitations on conference committee jurisdiction, H.B. No. 3518 (Coleman/Ellis)

By: Ellis

S.R. No. 1080

SENATE RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, Regular Session, 2005, That Senate Rule 12.03 be suspended in part as provided by Senate Rule 12.08 to enable the conference committee appointed to resolve the differences on House Bill 3518 (creation of the Harris County Improvement District No. 6; providing authority to impose a tax and issue bonds) to consider and take action on the following matters:

(1) Senate Rule 12.03(1) is suspended to permit the committee to amend the recital of SECTION 1 of the bill to read as follows:

SECTION 1. HARRIS COUNTY IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 6. Subtitle C, Title 4, Special District Local Laws Code, is amended by adding Chapter 3843 to read as follows:

Explanation: The change is necessary to conform a citation.

(2) Senate Rule 12.03(1) is suspended to permit the committee to amend the text of added Subsection (b), Section 3843.005, Special District Local Laws Code, to read as follows:

(b) The boundaries and field notes of the district contained in Section 2 of the Act enacting this chapter form a closure. A mistake in the field notes or in copying the field notes in the legislative process does not in any way affect:

1

S.R. No. 1080

(1) the district's organization, existence, and validity;

(2) the district's right to issue any type of bond, including a refunding bond, for a purpose for which the district is created or to pay the principal of and interest on the bond;

(3) the district's right to impose and collect an assessment or tax; or

(4) the legality or operation of the district or the board.

Explanation: The change is necessary to conform a citation.

(3) Senate Rule 12.03(1) is suspended to permit the committee to change the names of the initial directors in added Subsection (a), Section 3843.053, Special District Local Laws Code, to read as follows:

Pos. No.	Name of Director
<u>1</u>	Kathy Hubbard
2	James McDermaid
<u>3</u>	Charles Armstrong
4	Tom Fricke
<u>5</u>	Greg Jew
<u>6</u>	Jerry Simoneaux
<u>7</u>	Tammy Manning
<u>8</u>	Dale Harger
<u>9</u>	<u>Marisol Rodriguez</u>
10	<u>Patti Thompson</u>
11	Jack Rose

S.R. No. 1080

Explanation: The change is necessary to ensure that the district has the proper initial directors.

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 29, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate