Suspending limitations on conference committee jurisdiction, H.B. No. 2309 (Denny/M. Jackson)

By: Jackson S.R. No. 1091

SENATE RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, Regular Session, 2005, That Senate Rule 12.03 be suspended in part as provided by Senate Rule 12.08 to enable the conference committee appointed to resolve the differences on House Bill 2309 (certain election processes and procedures) to consider and take action on the following matter:

Senate Rule 12.03(4) is suspended to permit the committee to add language to the statute validating and recreating the Lake Cities Municipal Utility Authority (Section 6(b), Chapter 1137, Acts of the 76th Legislature, Regular Session, 1999) to allow the governing body of the authority to be elected at large by place and to repeal a prior obsolete statute governing the operations of the authority to read as follows:

SECTION 1.26. (a) Section 6(b), Chapter 1137, Acts of the 76th Legislature, Regular Session, 1999, is amended to read as follows:

- (b) <u>Each director is</u> [<u>Directors are</u>] elected at large <u>to</u> <u>one of five numbered places</u> by the qualified voters residing within the boundaries of LCMUA.
- (b) The directors serving on the effective date of this section shall draw lots to determine in which place each director serves. The two directors whose terms expire in 2006 shall draw

S.R. No. 1091

lots for places 1 and 2. The three directors whose terms expire in 2008 shall draw lots for places 3, 4, and 5. At the directors election in 2006 a candidate may file for place 1 or 2. At the directors election in 2008, a candidate may file for place 3, 4, or 5.

(c) Chapter 312, Acts of the 58th Legislature, Regular Session, 1963, is repealed.

Explanation: This change is necessary to allow the Lake Cities Municipal Utility Authority to elect its board of directors at large by place and to repeal an obsolete statute creating the authority.

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 29, 2005, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.

Secretary of the Senate