SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                               Tuesday, July 12, 2005 
                           11:30 a.m. or upon adjournment 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Tuesday, July 12, 2005, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Steve Ogden                     Senator Gonzalo  
         Senator Judith Zaffirini                Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Kip Averitt                     Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Kim Brimer                      Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Bob Deuell                      Senator Royce West 
         Senator Jane Nelson                     Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 1:38 p.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         The chair laid out SB 14 and recognized the author, Senator  
         Zaffirini, to explain the bill.  Senator Zaffirini sent up a  
         committee substitute; the chair recognized Senator Zaffirini to  
         explain the difference between the committee substitute and the  
         bill as filed.   
         The roll was called; a quorum was established. 
         Witnesses testifying and registering on the bill are shown on  
         the attached list.  The chair moved that the public testimony be  
         closed; without objection, it was so ordered.  Senator Ogden  
         moved that SB 14 be left pending; without objection, it was so  
         There was no action taken for the following bill: SB 25. 
         There being no further business, at 1:47 p.m. Senator Ogden  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Steve Ogden, Chair 
         Amy Jeter, Clerk