SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                            Thursday, November 17, 2005 
                                     9:00 a.m. 
                            Lamar University - Beaumont 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Thursday, November 17, 2005, at Lamar University -  
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Steve Ogden                     Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator Kim Brimer                      Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Robert Duncan                   Senator Gonzalo  
         Senator Kyle Janek                      Senator Bob Deuell 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh                 Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Todd Staples                    Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:20 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Ogden welcomed the Committee and made introductory  
         remarks, and recognized all Committee members to offer  
         introductory remarks.  Senator Ogden then recognized  
         Representatives Ritter, Deshotel and Hamilton as being present  
         at the hearing. 
         The Committee heard invited testimony from the following, the  
         witness list being attached hereto: 
         Legislative Budget Board 
         Federal/State Response Coordination Panel 
         Texas Education Agency         
         Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
         At 1:12 p.m. Senator Ogden moved that the Committee stand  
         recessed until 1:30 p.m. 
         The Committee reconvened at 1:35 p.m. 
         Local Government Panel 
         Texas State University System 
         Lamar University 
         Lamar State College - Orange 
         Lamar State College - Port Arthur 
         Lamar Institute of Technology  
         Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs  
         Texas Workforce Commission 
         Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
         The Committee then heard public testimony.  The witness list is  
         There being no further business, at 6:00 p.m. Senator Ogden  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Steve Ogden, Chair 
         Amy Jeter, Clerk