SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                             Wednesday, April 19, 2006 
                                     9:30 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Wednesday, April 19, 2006, in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Steve Ogden                     Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini                Senator Royce West 
         Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Kim Brimer 
         Senator Bob Deuell 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Juan Hinojosa 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:42 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Zaffirini assumed the chair.   
         The chair laid out SJR 7 and recognized the author, Senator  
         Ogden, to explain the bill. Witnesses testifying and registering  
         on the bill are shown on the attached list.   
         Senator Ogden recognized his wife, Mrs. Beverly Ogden, his son,  
         Chaz Ogden, and teachers and students of the 4th grade class of  
         St. Joseph's school in Bryan as being present at the hearing. 
         Testimony resumed. 
         The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.    
         Senator Zaffirini moved that SJR 7 be left pending; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Ogden resumed the chair.  
         There being no further business, at 11:56 a.m. Senator Ogden  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Steve Ogden, Chair 
         Amy Jeter, Clerk