SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                               Friday, April 21, 2006 
                                     9:30 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Friday, April 21, 2006, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Steve Ogden                     Senator Bob Deuell 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini                Senator Royce West 
         Senator Kip Averitt                      
         Senator Kim Brimer                       
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Juan Hinojosa 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Frank Madla                      
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Florence Shapiro                 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator John Whitmire                    
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:33 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The Committee heard invited testimony on the Texas Tax Reform  
         Commission's proposal.  Witnesses testifying and registering on  
         the proposal are shown on the attached list.   
         Senator Zaffirini recognized a group of students from Poteet  
         High School as being present at the hearing. 
         Testimony resumed. 
         At 12:51 p.m. Senator Ogden moved that the Committee stand  
         recessed for 10 minutes; without objection, it was so ordered. 
         The Committee reconvened at 1:04 p.m. 
         Testimony resumed. 
         There being no further business, at 1:54 p.m. Senator Ogden  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed until 10:30 a.m. on  
         Monday, April 24, 2006.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Steve Ogden, Chair 
         Amy Jeter, Clerk