Thursday, July 13, 2006 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                             Dallas City Hall, Room 6ES 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural  
         Resources was held on Thursday, July 13, 2006, in the Dallas  
         City Hall, Room 6ES 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kip Averitt                     Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Craig Estes                     Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos              Senator Juan Hinojosa 
                                                 Senator Mike Jackson 
                                                 Senator Jon Lindsay 
                                                 Senator Frank Madla 
                                                 Senator Kel Seliger 
                                                 Senator Todd Staples 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         The following testified before the committee on Interim Charge  
         -Commissioner Kathleen White, Texas Commission on Environmental  
         -Commissioner Larry Soward, Texas Commission on Environmental  
         -David Schanbacher, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
         -Richard Hyde, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
         Electric Reliability Panel: 
              -Sam R. Jones, Electric Reliability Council of Texas 
              -Commissioner Barry Smitherman, Public Utility Commission  
         of Texas 
         TERC Update: 
         -George Beatty, Jr., Texas Environmental Research Consortium 
         At 12:40, the chair announced the Committee would stand in  
         recess until 1:00 p.m. 
         The committee came back to order at 1:06 p.m. 
         Environmental Panel on Interim Charge 1: 
              -Ramon Alvarez, Environmental Defense 
              -Tom "Smitty" Smith 
         Integrated Gasification Combined Cycle (IGCC) Panel: 
              -Stephen Jenkins, TXU 
              -Randy Eminger, Clean Coal Technology Foundation of Texas 
              -Richard Furman, Retired Consulting Engineer 
         Industry Panel on Interim Charge 1: 
              -Steven Winn, NRG Energy 
              -Mike McCall, TXU Wholesale 
              -Monty Jasper, American Electric Power 
         The chair opened public testimony.   
         The following testified before the committee: 
         -Linda Koop, City of Dallas, City Council Member 
         -Adlene Harrison, self 
         -Nile Fischer, Representative Lon Burnam 
         -Molly Rooke, League of Women Voters of Dallas 
         -Rich Herweck, Self 
         -Karen Hadden, SEED Coalition 
         -Lou Ann Ligon, Breath of Life - The Impact 
         -William Pulley, Self 
         -Jim Harris, Self 
         -Campbell B Read, Interfaith Environmental Alliance 
         - Victoria Gruben, Sierra Club 
         -Rita Beving, Downwinders at Risk/Sierra Club 
         -James H. Henderson, Self 
         -Marsha Paisley, Citizens of Dallas 
         -Nora Czigan, Dallas Sierra Club 
         -Mary Anne Mayer Redmond , Citizens of Texas 
         -Benjamin Johnson, Self 
         -Anthony Pace  , Pace Family 
         -Thomas Manaugh, Self 
         -J. Bankston, COR 
         -Lois Day, grandchildren 
         -Robert Haley, Self 
         -Becky Bornhorst, Downwinders at Risk 
         -Dean Gamboa, Citizens of Dallas 
         -Gary Stuard, Interfaith Environmental Alliance 
         -Rod Russell-Ides, Self 
         The following submitted written testimony: 
         -Susanne Yeagley, Self 
         -Bradley Young, Self and Family 
         -Frances O. McElvaney, Self 
         -Paula "Shakti" Biskamp, Self and Husband 
         -Linda Maitri Smithhisler, Self and Family 
         -Karen Hadden, SEED Coalition 
         -Mary Anne Mayer Redmond, Citizens of Texas 
         -Benjamin Johnson, Self 
         -Thomas Manaugh, Self 
         The following registered, but did not testify: 
         -Dan Everheart, Private Citizen 
         -Joy Glatz, Green Party of Dallas County 
         -Bryan Carpenter, Self 
         -John William (Bill) Matthews, Dallas Peace Center 
         -Dennis Baum, Self and Family 
         -Rosa R. Orenstein, Personal 
         -Jan Sanders, Self 
         -Liz Wally, Self 
         -Al Daniels, Glen Cove/Meadow Park Homeowners Association 
         -Margie Haley, Self 
         -Dan Dodd, Running for Congress TX-3 
         -Ann Trenton, Self 
         -Candy Halliburton, Self 
         There being no further business, Senator Averitt moved that the  
         Committee stand recessed until 8:00 a.m. on July 14, 2006.   
         Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Kip Averitt, Chair 
         Teddy Carter, Clerk