Subcommittee on Base Realignment and Closure 
                              Wednesday, March 2, 2005 
                           1:30 p.m. or upon adjournment 
                      Betty King Committee Hearing Room, 2E.20 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Subcommittee on Base Realignment  
         and Closure was held on Wednesday, March 2, 2005, in the Betty  
         King Committee Hearing Room, 2E.20, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh                 Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Craig Estes 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 4:15 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The chair welcomed the members and the public and made comments.   
         Senator Estes made comments.  The Subcommittee voted to conduct  
         business under the VAMI Committee Rules.  The chair laid out SB  
         252 and recognized the author, Senator Estes, to explain the  
         bill.  Senator Estes sent up a committee substitute; the chair  
         recognized Senator Estes to explain the difference between the  
         committee substitute and the bill as filed.  Senator Estes moved  
         adoption of the committee substitute; without objection, it was  
         so ordered.   
         One witness, Bob Beardon from the Comptroller's Office,  
         registered as a resource witness but did not testify. 
         Senator Estes moved that SB 252 do not pass but that the  
         committee substitute adopted in lieu thereof be sent to the full  
         committee with the recommendation that it do pass and be  
         printed.  The motion prevailed by a record vote of 2 ayes and no  
         There being no further business, at 4:25 p.m. Senator Shapleigh  
         moved that the Committee be adjourned. Without objection, it was  
         so ordered.   
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh, Chair 
         Katherine Saunders, Clerk