BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center

S.C.R. 77 By: Van de Putte Veteran Affairs & Military Installations 5/15/2007 As Filed

AUTHOR'S / SPONSOR'S STATEMENT OF INTENT

The United States armed forces confronted and engaged the forces of international Communism continuously from the end of World War II until the disintegration of the former Soviet Union and the Soviet Bloc, in an extended conflict referred to as the Cold War. The United States of America, throughout this prolonged period, depended upon its citizen volunteers and draftees to perform national military service in the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard to defend the United States and its allies. The veterans of the Cold War faithfully served our country around the globe during a campaign of Soviet Bloc aggression, the occupation of Eastern Europe, and the constant threat of nuclear attack. The defeat of the former Soviet Union and its Warsaw Pact allies constituted the greatest success of the United States armed forces since the end of World War II.

It is appropriate and it is time to recognize with a service medal those Americans who honorably served in the United States armed forces during the Cold War. The American Defense Service Medal was awarded by Executive Order 8808, signed by President Franklin Delano Roosevelt on June 28, 1941, to certain active duty service members who served between September 8, 1939, and December 7, 1941. Modifying Executive Order 8808 to award the American Defense Service Medal to United States armed forces military personnel for Cold War service will honorably recognize these deserving veterans.

RESOLVED

That the 80th Legislature urges the president of the United States to issue an executive order modifying Executive Order 8808 to award the American Defense Service Medal to United States armed forces military personnel who served on active duty during the period September 2, 1945, to December 26, 1991.

That the Texas secretary of state forward an official copy of this resolution to the president of the United States.