80R6924 JGH-D
  By: Giddings H.R. No. 579
         WHEREAS, A team of eight news photographers from the Dallas
  Morning News has won the 2006 Pulitzer Prize for breaking news
  photography for its pictures of Hurricane Katrina and its
  aftermath; and
         WHEREAS, Members of a team often called "The Eyes of Texas,"
  this talented group of photojournalists includes Michael
  Ainsworth, Melanie Burford, Barbara Davidson, Tom Fox, Brad Loper,
  Michael Mulvey, Smiley N. Pool, and Irwin Thompson; and
         WHEREAS, With courage, compassion, and professionalism,
  these gifted photographers braved difficult and often dangerous
  conditions to chronicle the fury of the storm and the heartbreak of
  the days that followed; and
         WHEREAS, From the picture of a family waiting to be rescued
  from the roof of their apartment building to the photograph of an
  elderly woman collapsed on the sofa of her devastated home, this
  portfolio of 20 striking photos conveyed both the epic scale and the
  personal toll of this tragic event; and
         WHEREAS, The Pulitzer Prize is the most prestigious award
  given for journalism in the United States; this is the eighth time
  the Dallas Morning News has won a Pulitzer, and the fourth time its
  photography staff has been recognized with this tremendous honor,
  and the citizens of this state and nation are indeed fortunate to
  have such a remarkable group chronicling the pivotal events of our
  times; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the photojournalism team of the
  Dallas Morning News on winning the 2006 Pulitzer Prize for breaking
  news photography and extend best wishes to each member of the team
  for continued success; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the award-winning Dallas Morning News photographers as
  an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.