H.R. No. 1578
         WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
  join the Communities In Schools State Advisory Committee and the
  Texas Education Agency in recognizing the recipients of the 2007
  Best of Texas awards; and
         WHEREAS, Communities In Schools is a nationwide dropout
  prevention network with 27 area programs in Texas; it helps
  students to improve in academics, attendance, or behavior,
  encouraging more students to stay in school, graduate, and pursue
  postsecondary education goals; and
         WHEREAS, The Best of Texas award recipients are recognized
  for their outstanding commitment to the CIS program, students,
  families, and schools; they are those who exemplify the spirit of
  the program, as well as those who dedicate themselves beyond
  expectations; and
         WHEREAS, Award winners and their Communities In Schools
  programs are Kris Downing, of Central Texas, Paul Lane Award of
  Excellence; Karl Schmalz, of the Dallas region, Board Member of the
  Year; Mike Steele, of Tarrant County, Executive Director of the
  Year; Julie Lyon, of Northeast Texas, Staff Member of the Year;
  Kenny Thompson, DDS, of Northeast Texas, Volunteer of the Year;
  Tashia Dawn Rusnak, of South Central Texas, Student of the Year; and
  Dorothy Harris, of McLennan County Youth Collaboration, Parent of
  the Year; and
         WHEREAS, Other recipients are Paul Vranish, Tornillo
  Independent School District, of El Paso, Superintendent of the
  Year; Jessica Hicks, Waco Independent School District, of McLennan
  County Youth Collaboration, Principal of the Year; Nance Lee
  Talbett, Copperas Cove Independent School District, of
  Bell-Coryell Counties, Teacher of the Year; and Bank of America, of
  Tarrant County, Business of the Year; and
         WHEREAS, These dedicated citizens have helped many young
  Texans to stay in school, prepare for successful lives, and
  contribute to their communities, and they truly merit special
  recognition; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2007
  Communities In Schools Best of Texas Awards and commend all those
  involved with the Communities In Schools programs of Texas for
  their exceptional work; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the award recipients as an expression of high regard by
  the Texas House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1578 was adopted by the House on April
  19, 2007, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House