By: Whitmire S.R. No. 1203
         BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th
  Legislature, Regular Session, 2007, That Senate Rule 12.03 be
  suspended in part as provided by Senate Rule 12.08 to enable the
  conference committee appointed to resolve the differences on
  Senate Bill No. 909 (the continuation and functions of the Texas
  Board of Criminal Justice, the Texas Department of Criminal
  Justice, and the Correctional Managed Health Care Committee, and
  to the functions of the Board of Pardons and Paroles) to consider
  and take action on the following matter:
         Senate Rules 12.03(3) and (4) are suspended to permit the
  committee to add the following appropriately numbered SECTION to
  the bill:
         SECTION ____.  Subchapter D, Chapter 499, Government
  Code, is amended by adding Section 499.072 to read as follows:
         Sec. 499.072.  LOCATION OF CENTRAL PRISON UNIT.  (a)  The
  department shall conduct a feasibility study of relocating the
  Central Prison Unit and the adjoining prison housing units from
  their current location in Sugar Land, Texas, to a location that
  more appropriately addresses the needs of the correctional
         (b)  If relocation is determined to be in the best
  interest of the correctional system and the City of Sugar Land,
  during the course of the study the department shall examine:
               (1)  the costs and benefits of relocating the Central
  Prison Unit and the adjoining prison housing units;
               (2)  appropriate measures to ensure that adequate
  easements are granted to allow development of surrounding
  property; and
               (3)  an anticipated timeline for the relocation.
         Explanation: This addition is necessary to require the
  Texas Department of Criminal Justice to conduct a feasibility
  study concerning the relocation of certain prison units and
  prison housing units.
        President of the Senate
         I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on May 27, 2007.
        Secretary of the Senate