By: Phillips H.B. No. 421

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the creation of the office of criminal district
- 3 attorney of Fannin County and to the abolition of the office of
- 4 county attorney of Fannin County.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 6 SECTION 1. Section 44.001, Government Code, is amended to
- 7 read as follows:
- 8 Sec. 44.001. ELECTION. The voters of each of the following
- 9 counties elect a criminal district attorney: Anderson, Austin,
- 10 Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin,
- 11 Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Fannin, Galveston,
- 12 Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jasper,
- 13 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton,
- 14 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant,
- 15 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,
- 16 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum.
- 17 SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 44, Government Code, is
- amended by adding Section 44.174 to read as follows:
- 19 Sec. 44.174. FANNIN COUNTY. (a) The criminal district
- 20 <u>attorney shall attend each term and session of the district courts</u>
- 21 in Fannin County and each term and session of the inferior courts of
- the county held for the transaction of criminal business and shall
- 23 exclusively represent the state in all criminal matters before
- those courts.

- 1 (b) The criminal district attorney shall perform the duties
- 2 conferred by law on county and district attorneys in the various
- 3 counties and districts.
- 4 (c) The criminal district attorney shall collect the fees,
- 5 commissions, and perquisites that are provided by law for similar
- 6 services rendered by a district or county attorney.
- 7 (d) The criminal district attorney is entitled to receive in
- 8 equal monthly installments compensation from the state equal to the
- 9 amount paid by the state to district attorneys. The state
- 10 compensation shall be paid by the comptroller as appropriated by
- 11 <u>the legislature.</u>
- 12 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
- 13 read as follows:
- 14 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 15 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state
- 16 prosecutors:
- 17 (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th,
- 18 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd,
- 19 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd,
- 20 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th,
- 21 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,
- 22 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th,
- 23 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st,
- 24 278th, 286th, 329th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;
- 25 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 27 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,

H.B. No. 421

- 1 Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,
- 2 Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro,
- 3 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith,
- 4 Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker,
- 5 Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 6 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 7 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
- 8 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, [Fannin,] Freestone,
- 9 Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris,
- 10 Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb,
- 11 and Willacy.
- 12 SECTION 4. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002,
- 13 Government Code, is amended to read as follows:
- 14 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 15 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state
- 16 prosecutors:
- 17 (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th,
- 18 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd,
- 19 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd,
- 20 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th,
- 21 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,
- 22 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th,
- 23 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st,
- 24 278th, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;
- 25 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 27 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,

H.B. No. 421

- 1 <u>Fannin</u>, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,
- 2 Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro,
- 3 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith,
- 4 Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker,
- 5 Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 6 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 7 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
- 8 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, [Fannin,] Freestone,
- 9 Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris,
- 10 Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb,
- 11 and Willacy.
- 12 SECTION 5. The office of county attorney of Fannin County is
- 13 abolished.
- SECTION 6. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.