1-1 By: Phillips (Senate Sponsor - Deuell) H.B. No. 421 (In the Senate - Received from the House April 10, 2007; April 11, 2007, read first time and referred to Committee on Jurisprudence; May 3, 2007, reported favorably by the following vote: Yeas 4, Nays 0; May 3, 2007, sent to printer.) 1-2 1-3 1-4 1-5 1-6 1-7 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT 1-8 relating to the creation of the office of criminal district attorney of Fannin County and to the abolition of the office of 1-9 1-10 1-11 county attorney of Fannin County. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 1-12 SECTION 1. Section 44.001, Government Code, is amended to read as follows: 1-13 1-14 Sec. 44.001. ELECTION. The voters of each of the following 1**-**15 1**-**16 counties elect a criminal district attorney: Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, <u>Fannin</u>, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jasper, 1-17 Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum. SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 44, Government Code, is amended by adding Section 44.174 to read as follows: 1-18 1-19 1-20 1-21 1-22 1-23 1-24 Sec. 44.174. FANNIN COUNTY. (a) The criminal district attorney shall attend each term and session of the district courts 1-25 1-26 in Fannin County and each term and session of the inferior courts of 1-27 the county held for the transaction of criminal business and shall 1-28 1-29 exclusively represent the state in all criminal matters before those courts. (b) The criminal district attorney shall perform the duties 1-30 1-31 1-32 conferred by law on county and district attorneys in the various 1-33 counties and districts. (c) The criminal district attorney shall collect the fees, 1-34 commissions, and perquisites that are provided by law for similar services rendered by a district or county attorney. (d) The criminal district attorney is entitled to receive in 1-35 1-36 1-37 1-38 equal monthly installments compensation from the state equal to the amount paid by the state to district attorneys. The state compensation shall be paid by the comptroller as appropriated by 1-39 1-40 1-41 the legislature. 1-42 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 1-43 read as follows: Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 1-44 1-45 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 1-46 prosecutors: the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 1-47 (1) (1) the district attorneys for the fist, 2nd, 5th, 5th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts; 1-48 1-49 1-50 1-51 1-52 1-53 1-54 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, 1-55 1-56 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, 1-57 1-58 1-59 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, 1-60 1-61 Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of 1-62 1-63 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, 1-64

H.B. No. 421

Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, [Fannin,] Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, 2-1 2-2 Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, 2-3 2-4 and Willacy.

SECTION 4. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to read as follows: 2-5 2-6 2-7

Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state prosecutors:

2-10 2-11 2-12 2-13 2-14 2**-**15 2**-**16 2-17

2-18 2-19 2-20 2-21 2-22 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of 2-23 2-24 2**-**25 2**-**26

2-27 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, 2-28 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, [Fannin,] Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, 2-29 2-30 2-31 and Willacy.

2-32 SECTION 5. The office of county attorney of Fannin County is 2-33 abolished. 2-34

SECTION 6. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.

2-35

2-8 2-9

\* \* \* \* \*