H.B. No. 622

AN ACT 1 2 relating to the application of the professional prosecutors law to 3 the district attorney for the 46th Judicial District. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 4 SECTION 1. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 5 6 read as follows: Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 7 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 8 9 prosecutors: (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 10 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 11 12 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, <u>46th,</u> 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 13 14 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 15 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 16 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts; 17 18 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, 19 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 20 21 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, 22 23 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, 24 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,

1

H.B. No. 622

1 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
Willacy.

8 SECTION 2. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002,
9 Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

10 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 11 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 12 prosecutors:

(1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 13 14 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 15 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, <u>46th,</u> 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 16 17 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 18 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 19 20 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial 21 districts;

(2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper,
Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton,
Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant,

2

H.B. No. 622 1 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, 2 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

3 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
4 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
5 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
6 Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
7 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
8 Willacy.

9

SECTION 3. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.

3

H.B. No. 622

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.B. No. 622 was passed by the House on March 15, 2007, by the following vote: Yeas 146, Nays 0, 2 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.B. No. 622 was passed by the Senate on May 1, 2007, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED:

Date

Governor