By: Hardcastle H.B. No. 622

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the application of the professional prosecutors law to
- 3 the district attorney for the 46th Judicial District.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 5 SECTION 1. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
- 6 read as follows:
- 7 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 8 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state
- 9 prosecutors:
- 10 (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th,
- 11 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd,
- 12 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st,
- 13 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th,
- 14 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th,
- 15 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th,
- 16 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th,
- 17 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;
- 18 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- 19 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 20 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
- 21 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper,
- 22 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton,
- 23 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant,
- 24 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,

- 1 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 2 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 3 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
- 4 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
- 5 Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
- 6 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
- 7 Willacy.
- 8 SECTION 2. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002,
- 9 Government Code, is amended to read as follows:
- 10 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 11 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state
- 12 prosecutors:
- 13 (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th,
- 14 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd,
- 15 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st,
- 16 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th,
- 17 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th,
- 18 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th,
- 19 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th,
- 20 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial
- 21 districts;
- 22 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 24 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
- 25 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper,
- 26 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton,
- 27 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant,

H.B. No. 622

- 1 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,
- 2 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 3 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 4 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
- 5 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
- 6 Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
- 7 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
- 8 Willacy.
- 9 SECTION 3. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.