1-1	By: Parker (Senate Sponsor - Nelson)
1-2	(In the Senate - Received from the House May 10, 2007;
1-3	May 14, 2007, read first time and referred to Committee on
1-4	Intergovernmental Relations; May 21, 2007, reported favorably by
1-5	the following vote: Yeas 4, Nays 0; May 21, 2007, sent to
1-6	printer.)
1-7	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
1-8	AN ACT
1-9	<pre>relating to the authority of the Denton County Municipal Utility</pre>
1-10	District No. 6 to divide into two districts.
1-11	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
1-12	SECTION 1. Subchapter C, Chapter 8126, Special District
1-13	Local Laws Code, is amended by adding Section 8126.107 to read as
1-14	follows:
1-15	Sec. 8126.107. DIVISION OF DISTRICT. (a) The district may
1-16	be divided into two new districts only if the district:
1-17	(1) has no outstanding bonded debt; and
1-18	(2) is not imposing ad valorem taxes.
1-19	(b) The division procedure is prescribed by Sections 53.030
1-20	through 53.041, Water Code.
1-21	(c) Any new district created by the division of the district
1-22	has all the powers and duties of the district.
1-23	(d) Any new district created by the division of the district
1-24	may not contain any land outside the area described by Section 2,
1-25	Chapter 774, Acts of the 79th Legislature, Regular Session, 2005.
1-26	SECTION 2. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
1-27	a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
1-28	provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this
1-29	Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
1-30	Act takes effect September 1, 2007.
1-31	* * * *