By: Cook of Colorado H.B. No. 3236

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1	AN ACT

- 2 relating to the service areas of the Austin Community College
- 3 District and the Blinn Junior College District.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 5 SECTION 1. Section 130.166, Education Code, is amended to
- 6 read as follows:
- 7 Sec. 130.166. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE
- 8 AREA. The service area of the Austin Community College District
- 9 includes the territory within:
- 10 (1) [Bastrop,] Hays, Gillespie, Caldwell, and Blanco
- 11 counties;
- 12 (2) Travis County, except the territory within the
- 13 Marble Falls Independent School District;
- 14 (3) Williamson County, except the territory within the
- 15 Florence, Granger, Hutto, Lexington, Taylor, and Thrall
- 16 independent school districts;
- 17 (4) the part of the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated
- 18 Independent School District located in Gonzales County; [and]
- 19 (5) the part of the San Marcos Consolidated
- 20 Independent School District located in Guadalupe County;
- 21 (6) Bastrop County, except the territory within the
- 22 Lexington Independent School District;
- 23 (7) the part of the Elgin Independent School District
- located in Lee County; and

- 1 (8) the part of the Smithville Independent School
- 2 <u>District located in Fayette County</u>.
- 3 SECTION 2. Section 130.168, Education Code, is amended to
- 4 read as follows:
- 5 Sec. 130.168. BLINN JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE
- 6 AREA. The service area of the Blinn College District includes the
- 7 territory within:
- 8 (1) Washington, Burleson, Brazos, Madison, Grimes,
- 9 and Waller[Lee, and Fayette] counties;
- 10 (2) the Mumford, Hearne, and Franklin independent
- 11 school districts located in Robertson County;
- 12 (3) Austin County, other than the territory within the
- 13 Wallis-Orchard Independent School District;
- 14 (4) the Milano and Gause independent school districts
- 15 located in Milam County;
- 16 (5) the part of the Richards Independent School
- 17 District that is located in Walker and Montgomery counties; [and]
- 18 (6) the part of the Bryan Independent School District
- 19 that is located in Robertson County;
- 20 (7) Fayette County, other than the territory within
- 21 the Smithville Independent School District;
- 22 (8) Lee County, other than the territory within the
- 23 Elgin Independent School District; and
- 24 (9) the part of the Lexington Independent School
- 25 <u>District that is located in Bastrop, Milam, and Williamson</u>
- 26 counties.
- 27 SECTION 3. The change in law made by this Act applies

H.B. No. 3236

- beginning with the 2007 fall semester, except that during the 2007-2008 academic year, the Austin Community College District and the Blinn Junior College District each may continue to treat the areas removed by this Act from the applicable district's service area as if the areas were still in the district's service area as necessary to avoid an unreasonable interruption of junior college services in the area.
- SECTION 4. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives 9 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as 10 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this 11 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this 12 Act takes effect September 1, 2007.