By: Cook of Colorado

H.B. No. 3236

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

L AN	ACT
------	-----

- 2 relating to the service areas of the Blinn County College District
- 3 and the Austin Community College District.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 5 SECTION 1. Section 130.162, Education Code, is amended to
- 6 read as follows:
- 7 Sec. 130.168. BLINN JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA..
- 8 The service area of the Blinn College District includes the
- 9 territory within:
- 10 (1) Washington, Burleson, Brazos, Madison, Grimes and
- 11 Waller, [Lee, and Fayette] counties;
- 12 (2) the Mumford, Hearne, and Franklin independent
- 13 school districts located in Robertson County;
- 14 (3) Austin County, other than the territory within the
- 15 Wallis-Orchard Independent School District;
- 16 (4) the Milano and Gause independent school districts
- 17 located in Milam County;
- 18 (5) the part of the Richards Independent School
- 19 District that is located in Walker and Montgomery counties; [and]
- 20 (6) the part of the Bryan Independent School District
- 21 that is located in Robertson County;
- 22 (7) the part of Lexington Independent School District
- that is located in Williamson, Milam and Bastrop Counties;
- 24 (8) Lee county except the territory within the Elgin

- 2 (9) Fayette County except the territory within
- 3 <u>Smithville Independent School District.</u>
- 4 Sec. 130.166. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE
- 5 AREA. The service area of the Austin Community College District
- 6 includes the territory within:
- 7 (1) Bastrop, Hays, Gillespie, Caldwell, and Blanco
- 8 counties;
- 9 (2) Travis County, except the territory within the
- 10 Marble Falls Independent School District;
- 11 (3) Williamson County, except the territory within the
- 12 Florence, Granger, Hutto, Taylor, and Thrall, and Lexington
- independent school districts; [and]
- 14 (4) Bastrop County, except the territory within the
- 15 Lexington independent school district;
- 16 (4) (5) the part of the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated
- 17 Independent School District located in Gonzales County;
- 18 (6) the part of the Elgin Independent School District
- 19 located in Lee County; and
- 20 (7) the part of Smithville Independent School District
- 21 <u>located in Fayette County.</u>
- 22 SECTION 3. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
- 23 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
- 24 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this
- 25 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
- 26 Act takes effect September 1, 2007.